Friday, April 29, 2011

DH Lawrence Fellowship

D. H. Lawrence Fellowship

The original D. H. Lawrence Fellowship was established in 1958 to sustain a living tradition of artistic creation at the D. H. Lawrence Ranch, located in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains some 20 miles north of Taos, New Mexico. Over the years, dozens of poets, fiction writers and dramatists enjoyed a month of quiet writing time amid the great natural beauty of the Ranch. Unfortunately, in 1992, the Fellowship had to be suspended because of the deteriorating condition of the writer's cabin and an uncertain water supply. While the Ranch remains open to visitors during the day, housing a writer-in-residence still is not feasible.

In July 2000, the Taos Summer Writers' Conference reinstated the D. H. Lawrence Fellowship in modified form. The Fellowship is awarded to an emerging writer of fiction or poetry with one book in print or at press. The D. H. Lawrence Fellow will receive paid tuition for one weekend or weeklong workshop (a value up to $650), lodging at the Sagebrush Inn or Comfort Suites, and two meals a day (breakfast and lunch). In return, the Fellow contributes to Conference activities and gives a formal reading.

D. H. Lawrence Fellows include Andrew Kozma (2010), Merrill Feitell (2009), Nancy Pagh of Bellingham, Washington (2008), Philip Cioffar (2007), Kelly Magee of Columbus, Ohio (2006); Carl Marcum of Chicago, Illinois (2005); Lisa Goett of Taos, New Mexico (2004); Sarah Jane Smith of Miami, Florida (2003); Andrea Hollander Budy of Mountain View, Arkansas (2002); Pamela Gemin of Oshkosh, Wisconsin (2001); and Charlotte Holmes of State College, Pennsylvania (2000).

The next application period for the D.H. Lawrence Fellowship is Dec. 2010-April 2011.

Application Procedure for D.H. Lawrence Fellowship

1. Send a vitae and a brief letter of application along with a recent sample of your work. Manuscripts and supporting materials will be returned.

2. Application deadline: Monday, May 16th (received)

3. Send application materials to:

Taos Summer Writers' Conference
Attn: D.H. Lawrence Fellowship
Sharon Oard Warner, Director
Department of English Language and Literature
MSC03 2170, 1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001


We look forward to hearing from you. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions you may have.


Eva Lipton-Ormand
Assistant Director


Taos Summer Writers' Conference

Department of English Language and Literature

MSC03 2170

1 University of New Mexico

Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001

Telephone: 505.277.5572

Fax: 505.277.2950

No comments:

Post a Comment