Skip to main content

OPA 2023 Student Contest Winners

The Ohio Poetry Association (OPA) is pleased to announce the winners and honorable mentions of the 2023 High School Poetry Contests. Eligible poems were sent to the National Federation of State Poetry Societies, Inc. Manningham Trust Student Poetry Contest. All winning poems receive monetary awards and publication in an OPA chapbook. The grand prize-winning poem will be published in the 2024 issue of Common Threads, OPA's annual anthology.

We sincerely thank each contest sponsor and judge and congratulate the teachers from each school with student winning poems and honorable mentions. Special thanks to contest coordinator Jessica Weyer-Bentley for all her hard work to coordinate this year’s contests.

"Dementia" - Austin Blake, Buckeye Local H.S.
Teacher: Stephanie Crust

Category 1. Ethos 
Sponsor and Judge: Chuck Salmons 
1st: "I Set Myself to Sound" - Diana Zhang (The Seven Hills School)
2nd: "Dora" - Anna Kunkel (The Seven Hills School)
3rd: "Doubling Up" - Ahalya Nambiar (The Seven Hills School)
HM: Alex McDiffin (Buckeye Local H.S.) and Clair Liu (The Seven Hills School)

Category 2. Free Verse
Sponsor and Judge: Jessica Weyer Bentley
1st: "The King in Red" - Sebastian Owsley (Bath H.S.)
2nd: "P.S. She's the Stars" - Evy LaBare (The Seven Hills School)
3rd: "Golden Cliffs" - Lauren Vordem Esche (The Seven Hills School)

Category 3. Humor
Sponsor and Judge: Pat Snyder Hurley
1st: " 'Almost' Snowy Day" - Chris Ebright (Buckeye Local H.S.)

Category 4. Metrical Measures
Sponsor and Judge: Betsy Hughes
1st: "Dementia" - Austin Blake (Buckeye Local H.S.)
2nd: "Dear _________" - Emma Cales (Bath H.S.)
3rd: "Zoned Out" - Olivia Dorris (Sylvania Northview H.S.)
HM: Alec Finney (Buckeye Local H.S.), Anna Songer (Pleasant H.S.), and Allison Emfield (Buckeye Local H.S.)

Category 5. Lyric Poem
Sponsor and Judge: Simple Simon Press
1st: "The Arrival of Snow" - Rebeka Repp (Northview H.S.)
2nd: "Limerence" - Dougie Schecter (The Seven Hills School)
3rd: "Popular" - Sydney Snyder (Buckeye Local H.S.)
HM: Caiden Younger (Centennial H.S.), Maddix Richter (Buckeye Local H.S.), and Betty Bolock (Buckeye Local H.S.)

Category 6. Nature Poem
Sponsor and Judge: Kerry Trautman
1st: "Withering Flower" - Rahifa Maricar (Walnut Hills H.S.)
2nd: "Thunderstorm" - Shlok Mehta (The Seven Hills School)
HM: Arica Robertson (Struthers H.S.)

Category 7. Bill Molina: Celebration of Life’s Journey
Sponsor: Kelly Sagert; Judge: Dianne Borsenik
1st: "9 hours until vacation" - Addy Bonomo (Buckeye Local H.S.)
2nd: "Living life like a tree" - Dakota Turner (Buckeye Local H.S.)
3rd: "To Be Remembered" - Charlotte Quick (Sylvania Northview H.S.)
HM: Aidin Hosenfeld (Buckeye Local H.S.)

Category 8. Meter and Rhyme
Sponsor and Judge: Mark F. Stone
1st: "Fortnite's Blessing" - Aidin Hosenfeld (Buckeye Local H.S.)
2nd: "I Do Not Hate You" - Anna Songer (Pleasant H.S.)
3rd: "I Wish I Could See You" - Alexis Burress (Buckeye Local H.S.)
HM: Adison Muldrew (Buckeye Local H.S.) and Alyssa Dailey (Buckeye Local H.S.)


Popular posts from this blog

Casting a Line for Susan Glassmeyer's 'Invisible Fish'

by Chuck Salmons If you haven’t heard by now, OPA member and Cincinnati poet Susan Glassmeyer is the winner the Ohio Poetry Day Association’s 2018 Poet of the Year award, for her first full-length collection, Invisible Fish  (Dos Madres Press, 2018). On the heels of her winning, I corresponded with her to find out more about the collection and her writing process.  CS: First of all, congratulations on the award! Having read Invisible Fish, I know this is an honor that is well-deserved. How does it feel to have your name among past winners such as Mary Oliver, David Baker, and David Citino? SG: I was truly surprised to win this award, Chuck. I did some research after the fact and learned about the history of the award. What an honor to be part of this venerable Ohio poet lineage! I already own a few of the books on the list, not realizing the authors had previously won the award. And although I have many of Mary Oliver’s books, Twelve Moons (winner in 1980) was not among

Ohio Poetry Day Association names 2021 Poet of the Year and Contest Winners

The Ohio Poetry Day Association (OPDA) has selected Quartez Harris as its Ohio Poet of the Year for 2021. Harris was selected for his book of poems, We Made It to School Alive (Twelve Arts Press, 2020). Residing in Cleveland, Ohio, Harris is a second-grade teacher at Michael R. White Elementary School. We Made It to School Alive, his second collection of poetry, was inspired by his work as a teacher and gives voice to the experiences of the children he works with every day who deal with issues of gun violence, poverty, educational challenges, and more. Harris’ first book, N othing, But Skin,  was published in 2014 by Writing Knights Press. He is the first recipient of the Barbara Smith Writer-In-Resident at Twelve Literary Arts and a 2020 Baldwin House Fellow. He has been featured in the Plain Dealer, IdeaStream, and City Club of Cleveland, and recently signed on to be represented by Mckinnon Literary Agency. His works in progress are a young-adult novel and picture book biography. 

2023 Ohio Poetry Day Contests Now Open

Our friends at the Ohio Poetry Day Association have announced their annual contests!  May 15, 2023, is the deadline (postmark)  for nearly two dozen contest categories. Categories include humor, formal poems, parody and more. As always, a “Welcome Aboard” category for first-time submitters and an art category to design the cover art for the 2023  Best of Ohio Poetry Day  anthology are also open to submissions.  Below is a copy of the submission form, which provides full contest information.  Ohio Poetry Day 2023 will take place in October. Stay up to date on OPD information, including the event date, location, and agenda, by getting your name and address on the OPD mailing list. To do so, contact: Amy Jo Zook 3520 State Route 56 Mechanicsburg, OH 43044 Checks for all contest fees and purchases should be made payable to: Ohio Poetry Day . For questions, call (937) 834-2666. Click and download the images below to view them at full size.